• 25 Dom
  • 26 Oggi
  • 27 Mar
  • 28 Mer
  • 29 Gio
  • 1 Ven
  • 2 Sab
  • 3 Dom
  • 4 Lun
  • 5 Mar
  • 6 Mer
  • 7 Gio
  • 8 Ven
  • 9 Sab

PGA In TV e streaming

Enjoy a complete schedule of all streamed and televised PGA Tour matches for 2019/2020. The PGA Championship was moved from August to May on the weekend before Memorial Day, starting in 2019. The PGA of America announced the addition of golf to the Summer Olympics. It is believed that the PGA Tour wanted to re-align its season so that the FedEx Cup Playoffs would not have to compete with the start of football season towards the end of August.

There are no upcoming events for PGA. Guarda le altre trasmissioni su Golf

Historical Background

As its name suggests, the Professional Golfers’ Association, more commonly referred to as the PGA, is an organisation of professional golfers which was formed over a century ago. Founded by Rodman Wanamaker for the purpose of establishing a new tournament which was only open to professionals, the first PGA Championship took place in Bronxville, New York, in October 1916. The tournament that Wanamaker established is still going strong, and the annual PGA Championship is one of four major championships on the golfing calendar.

In addition to the PGA Championship, the PGA also organises several other big tournaments, including the Senior PGA Championship and the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship. The PGA Tour was originally part of the PGA, but became independent in 1968 in order to focus on organising events for tour players. PGA Tour has expanded globally since then, with PGA Tour Canada, PGA Tour Latinoamerica and PGA Tour China all organising big events in their respective jurisdictions.

The PGA currently has more than 29,000 members in the USA, and is headquartered in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. However, a new headquarters is currently being developed in Frisco, Texas, and it is expected that the organisation will have relocated there by 2022.

The PGA Championship

One of the biggest events of the golfing year, the PGA Championship has been played every year since 1916, with the exception of just three years. Those were 1917 and 1918, because of World War I, and 1943, because of World War II. 

Because it was created as an elite competition which is only open to professionals, simply taking part in the PGA Championship is something of an achievement. The competition is open to previous PGA Championship winners, as well as to recent winners of the Masters, Open Championships, US Open and Players Championships. A certain number of low scorers in several other high-profile competitions are also eligible to participate.

The Championship itself is played over four rounds of eighteen holes, and that format is very popular with those who enjoy watching golf on TV, as it usually provides them with several consecutive days of top-quality action. The total prize fund for the 2019 competition will be $11 million, which is considerably more than the $3,000 prize fund which was up for grabs in the first ever tournament in 1916. 

High Points and Noteworthy Moments

With more than a century of history under its belt, the PGA Championship has delivered plenty of memorable moments. It isn’t possible to mention all of them here, but it is possible to point out a few of the biggest highlights, as follows…

The first ever PGA Championship was won in 1916 by English professional Jim Barnes, who beat 31 other competitors at Siwanoy Country Club to win a cash prize of $500.

In 1922 the competition was won by Gene Sarazen, who was just 20 years old at the time. Almost a century later, he is still the youngest player to have won the competition.

Of course it’s worthy to mention Julius Boros who emerged from a field of 165 players in 1968 to become the oldest ever winner of any major championship. The Connecticut-born player was aged 48 at the time, and his record still stands today.

Then there was the unforgettable year of 1980, where Jack Nicklaus matched the long-standing record of Walter Hagen. Nicklaus secured the fifth PGA Championship of his career. He also holds the record for finishing as runner-up more than anyone else – a feat that he achieved four times.

Those who watch PGA on TV cannot deny that the 2000 PGA Championship went down a real treat when Tiger Woods won the competition for the second year running. Incredibly, he also achieved back-to-back wins in 2006 and 2007.

Northern Ireland managed to snag a win in the 2012 PGA Championship, thanks to Rory McIlroy who gave a record margin of eight strokes when beating Englishman David Lynn.

In 2015, Australian golfer Jason Day set a new record for the lowest score below par in a PGA Championship tournament. He finished with a total score of 268, which was twenty under par.

Key Players

The PGA Championship continues to entertain golf fans everywhere, regardless of whether they are watching the action in person or enjoying the sport on TV. Every golfer who participates in the competition is obviously worthy of a name-check, but here are a few of the biggest names to look out for, and why…

Jason Day - will always have fond memories of the PGA Championship after his 2015 win, and he would have no objections to winning the competition for a second time.

Brooks Koepka - of Florida turned professional in 2012 and has made a big splash in the few years since then. He won the U.S. Open in 2017 and 2018, and he also won this competition in 2018. 

Rory McIlroy - has won this competition twice, in 2012 and 2014, and he would no doubt be delighted to add a third PGA Championship success to his already impressive resume.

Tiger Woods - is now one of the older professionals to still participate in this tournament, but there is plenty of time for him to achieve his fifth PGA Championship win.

Jimmy Walker - won the first major of his career when succeeding here in 2016, so his victory is still likely to be quite fresh in his mind.

Dustin Johnson - has yet to win the PGA Championship, but the 34 year old has a U.S. Open win to his credit and was named PGA Player of the Year in 2016.

Vijay Singh - has won this tournament twice before, in 1998 and 2004, and at 55 years of age he is old enough to have a go at breaking the record set by Julius ‘oldest winner ever’ Boros.